I don’t write so often

 

I am using a random image to help me write. I feel weird writing because I feel talking is better for me (how weird of me to “say” that). I can’t figure out WHAT I want to write. I learnt the tip to not edit while you write, but it’s hard to bullshit so long without any edits. I almost talked about politics.

I am trying to get myself to write because “If you didn’t write it down, did it happen?” (Quote taken from video The Power of Writing). As I read back to my previous entries, I wonder how much has happened….that WOULDN’T have happened, if I didn’t write it to remember it (Makes sense?). There’s a lot of mindsets I shift through from time to time and I wonder how wonderful it would’ve been if I had written every day to record my changes.

Oh look, my post has nothing to do with the writing image-prompt. This should show you how my brain tries to deal with me. Moving on, I’ve been seeing more articles on the importance of writing more nowadays. I’ve read the advice of journaling both from a marine and a blog-post (a blog-post about growing mental resilience). They both told of the importance of knowing yourself, your problems, etc That confidence comes with clarity. Well…writing is tough (says me). I can’t help myself to not go off tangents. When writing, from time to time, I stop myself and say, “This thought shouldn’t be available!”.

It probably took half an hour to write these three paras. No wonder I don’t write much these days *trudges into Cave of Unclarity”.

Twitter | Goodreads.

9 thoughts on “I don’t write so often

  1. Jokerswild says:

    It’s your world, you can do what you like. The thing I find interesting about you is everything you write is read worthy, so when you do write…..whether it’s late, it’s worth the wait.

  2. Wendy says:

    If you want to write, just write. You can go off on a tangent if you want. It’s your blog.
    I have a journal that I just wrote in. I simply sit for about 30 mins and write what I’m thinking about. It’s interesting to go back and read it.
    I may not write on my blog very often, but I write in my journal almost every day.
    Looking forward to reading more of your writing.

  3. me says:

    Just my view:
    Writing is a a fairly new phenomenon to my culture. Before colonisation, we were an Oratory culture. Meaning all our history and learnings were passed down or taught orally. They were preserved in stories and through song.
    Whilst doing a little research … it turns out most of my universal ‘brown’ brothers and sisters, have employed the same methods throughout history.
    Theres a special kind of genius, IMO, attached to this. 1. It was ‘recorded’, therefore couldn’t be stolen or duplicated. 2. Oratory history entwined with the spiritual element. 3. Oratory recollections can be ‘viewed’.
    Because we are a tactile people, we viewed everything in its totality. Writing doesn’t lend to that type of recollection.

    So … You do You 🙂

    • Mon ☠ says:

      That is so interesting! I read this in my literature book that some cultures would do This. They’d memorize long plays, pictures, etc by heart abd people would gather to listen to them. I can only imagine how much work they went through to pass the stories generations by generations through their dialects only, no papers.

      • Mon ☠ says:

        *I don’t know why autocorrect would change ‘poetries’ to ‘picture’s. May I ask, where does your ethnicity root to? Do you love live in the US?

      • me says:

        It is ay … and the other beautiful thing about it is, they’d gather regularly to make sure everyone could hear it .. .which means you never lost touch with them 🙂 .
        Do you know what your own culture did back in the day? My guess is there was a similar scenario?
        It’s a beautiful thing really … and put it into perspective for Me. I’m good at writing … but I come from a line of writers (English side) … but a lot of the time I need visual cues and am better at seeing and hearing something rather than reading or writing it. If I’m wanting to learn something new, like a musical instrument, I need to see it being played and can learn from there. I can’t learn by reading what I should be doing 🙂

Please write! :'(

