A New Challenge? 5 Second Rule by Mel Robbins

“The moment you have an instinct to act on a goal, you must move in 5 seconds or your brain will kill it.” ~Mel Robbins

I want to buy The 5-Second Rule book but I don’t think it’s available in my country, so I settled for a couple of youtube videos on it and here are concluding thoughts on it-

You will never ‘feel’ like working ‘someday’. You’re never going to feel like working. So now what?

Whenever you get an impulse to do a productive action, you have 5-seconds before that motivation dissipates and your brain starts making excuses to not do the work. The initial ‘reaction energy’ of the impulse in your brain (when you feel an urge like, “Hey, I should DO this”) takes up a lot of energy to work you up, so you need to make the best of it. When the impulse comes, count backward to 5 seconds as you run like a rocket-ship towards your work. The more you think before doing productive work, the less you’ll want to do it. You’re not a procrastinator- you have a habit of procrastinating. The more you practice this, the more bias you’ll  have about overthinking about doing your work.

I heard about it before and I thought, “Ha! It’s just your way of getting me to work even though I am not motivated”, but now I realized it was trying to work with the fleeting motivation while it’s still there.

I’ve tried it for the last 48 hours….and yeah, I don’t get these impulses much. But whenever I do I move fast, like I did by waking up early morning and studying 🙂 I’ve learnt it for myself that it indeed takes a couple seconds until the motivation fades away. I think meditating more will clear my mind of unnecessary things and I will be getting more spurts of motivation.

3 thoughts on “A New Challenge? 5 Second Rule by Mel Robbins

  1. Heartafire says:

    Oh, so true Mon. We must act right away on good intentions, this reflex also works if we wait a bit if our inclination is to do something we might regret. 🌺

Please write! :'(

