Things that stuck with me in 2016-

  1. When you step out of your comfort zone, you realize it wasn’t so comfortable before (or at least, you temporarily feel that way until you forget about it again and go back to your usual ways)
  2. A new idea is an idea that is 10% newer than the previous idea (Brain Tracy)
  3. No smell in one’s own fart (It’s gross and life-wisdom-y at the same time, credit of the quote goes to that random lady from Brahmonbaria for saying this xD)

I’ve learnt how much I hate therapy sessions, as good and as insightful they may be, they just remind me of how stuck I am. But it’s also taught me that when a relationship goes haywire, it’s always good for a third-person (who is a pro-therapist) to step in and give new perspectives- I’ll keep this lesson for life now that my relationship with Mom improved so much.

Hmm…let’s see…..what else? Right. I’ve learnt that when the going gets tough, you MUST pick one side (that’s my little way of saying ‘the tough gets going’). It’s good to be open-minded (at least, as much as you are so far?) and think in the ‘I don’t get it, but I also get it’ mindset, but in some situations you HAVE to pick one side or else others will take advantage of you. If you’re only focused on understanding others, you’ll lose focus of those who takes advantage of you for your understanding. Don’t understand ‘too’ much, especially when it comes to someone abusing you. Too much of anything isn’t good.

Write book reviews on goodreads, the more you review, the more you understand what kind writing you go for- and that can be an invaluable experience because language has great power over the soul ❤

Oh and read more non-fiction, fiction may be fun but real stories stick with you. Here’s a some of my favorite non-fiction books I read this year-

Sam’s Story

The Diary of a Young Girl

Binge

Mayada, Daughter of Iraq

10 thoughts on “

  1. davekingsbury says:

    I like #2 because most ideas are variants of others. When you get to my age you don’t have new ideas, only think you do, because you’ve forgotten having them first time round. Hey, that could be a new idea … couldn’t it?

  2. willytyme says:

    Good job Mon but never consider yourself stuck, believe me, everyone is in the same cup that is half full or half empty…..just depends on if your making it out, or drowning….it’s in the mind. Understanding, love your point but before that, we have to understand ourselves because we still don’t know what we want, that’s why life is wonderful. “Dairy of a Wimpy Kid”, great reads too…! Have yourself a safe and wonderful New Year Mon, if you’re happy, others around you should be if they really care about you.

Please write! :'(

