Book Review: The Alchemist

I am thinking of starting some sort of a book review series ๐Ÿ˜ฎ Where every Wednesday, I review book from one letter of the alphabet…alphabetically. You know? Okay today we have ‘A’ and I’ve chosen…

THE ALCHEMIST by Paulo Coelho

2728868

My Rating: 2/5 stars

The first few pages gets you hooked but the later parts- ehh…no. This was among the books I only read JUST to see why it was so famous. I thought the character-development was foul, to be honest. I didn’t find much anything in the boy to relate.

The plot revolves around the philosophy of the author, whereย  a young shepherd is journeying to different places and coming to learn whatever the author thinks is the way of life. I didn’t find much anything interesting with the philosophy, especially since because it sounded kind of The Secret by Rhonda Byrne (which I believe is a hoax), or the book The Power (also by Rhonda Byrne, where she writes more in detail about ‘The Secret’) which I regret buying.

The only thing I enjoyed was the cozy-easy read and the ending which connected to the beginning of the book in a beautiful way. These two are the only reasons I am giving this two stars out of five.

The language wasn’t impressive but perhaps some things in the unedited book got lost in translation which occurs so likely (from my personal experience of reading the same story in two different languages). Maybe if I read it in the original language, I’d like it a wee-bit better?

12 thoughts on “Book Review: The Alchemist

Please write! :'(

