Dreams Are Unfinished Thoughts (Book Review)

A tribute to a rockstar- David Reilly- from his best-friend Brian Paone, the author. The book sheds a light on the humane side of his friend, away from his fame and his ‘industrial light’ (if that’s a good way to put it_. As I read through the book, I wanted to know more and more about David Reilly.

Image result for dreams are unfinished thoughts book-review

I loved how he described when he first met David, how he vividly described his experiences with the rocker and just when I was writing this review, I thought I would read some sections of the book to share. But the parts I want to share are very emotional as they got more and more meaning as I read the pages (It’s a 434 page). I feel like I won’t be able to show the emotions I felt after the end of this book to show it here. It was a heartwarming read, all the incidences with David and the band around him. How David would talk to them, how he would be so humble.

I usually share favorite excerpts for reviews, but I feel like excerpts of my favorite lines won’t do much justice because you have to finish the book to ‘finish the feeling’, if that makes sense. I don’t even want to tell the reason behind the naming of this book. Figur4e it out for yourself. I feel like it’s the kind of book that needs to be read twice. Once for ‘finishing’ all the puzzle-pieces of the characters. And for the second time, to read it as you feel much more for the character because now you know what behavior led to what. The writer of this book has a kind soul and one can dream to have a friend as unconditionally supportive as Brian Paone (the author). LINK to the BOOK FROM AMAZON

The issues I had with the book was that there were TOO many names of bands and places in the book; so many names of things I didn’t want to know about  I just quickly flicked over them. Or perhaps I feel this way because I am not so familiar with all the bands he named during that time. A few ones I am familiar with, and one of that was Britney Spears. The other issue I had was because of my anxiety disorder. Even if the names were rhetorical (they were, right?) every time I read “God Lives Under Water” and “Drop-kick Jesus” (two of the band names, the first one is David Reilly’s the second is Brian Paone’s), people using religion-related things very lightly tends to make me very anxious. (I know I am not the best reviewer, so I left another review at the bottom of the blog-post)

This review wasn’t written in the style I wanted to write it. But I don’t think there is a way to review emotional non-fiction books like you can with fictional works. I would feel incredibly guilty if I had to ‘rate’ a book like this. Emotional stories like this are beyond ratings, just like Anne Frank’s diary. And because the author kindly had a giveaway for this book and I got it for free, I feel like one of the gifts you can give back to an author, other than enjoying the book, is giving a review of it. And this is sort of my review. I am so unqualified for writing stuff like this. But I feel like the author deserved some more people to know about him.

Since I feel like I didn’t do much for a review, I will share a great one from someone else on this book-

review

 

2 thoughts on “Dreams Are Unfinished Thoughts (Book Review)

Please write! :'(

