Anne Frank: Book Review

( I share 9 of my favorite excerpts from the diary in the post)

Finished reading Anne Frank. I can’t believe how insightful and articulate a mere 13 year old can be! She is smarter than I am at my ripe, old 20 years of age (I joke on ‘ripe, old’, don’t be offended if you’re at that age!), oh boy oh well, as if I am that articulate right now! I shocked myself today when I got to the last page, I felt awful. It was like I’ve experienced the death of a book right there. We have lost an outspoken, witty, feisty yet gentle, caring, understanding girl from the face of the earth. Just from the video above, from her quick movements I see so much of the person in the book. The video shows a shockingly normal girl!

This is the first book ever that I can rate a 10/10 🙂 Anne Frank is marvelous and I wish she could’ve been among us at the age of 87 this year. But no. Hitler. First planned on deporting every Jew, and then after knowing that it was impossible to do that for everyone, send them to a long walk towards their death to the concentration camps. And because of one sociopath neighbor who told on their hiding place.

She is NOT the person she shows herself to be, as described by her father, Otto Frank, who soon at a later age (being long separated from her daughter since her arrest) had learnt his daughter had died in a concentration camp

The diary is just terrifyingly so insightful about how extraordinary a person can be. I’ll share 9 favorite excerpts from the book– Diary of A Young Girl, Anne Frank, with CONTEXT IN BRACKETS in the beginning of each line-

  1. (On a guest the Frank family were entertaining) Mr. Goldschmidt, a divorced man in his thirties, who apparently had nothing to do that evening, since despite all our polite hints he hung around until ten o’clock.
    .
    .
  2. (Rich Jews giving money to the authorities to spare them, and Anne obviously wasn’t rich) They frequently offer a bounty, so much per head. It’s like the slave hunts of the olden days. I don’t mean to make light of this it’s much too tragic for that. In the evenings when it’s dark, I often see long lines of good, innocent people, accompanied by crying children, walking on and on, ordered about by a handful of men who bully and beat them……..all are marched to their death.
    .
  3. (Their annoying, grumpy roommate, Mrs. van D, spending time with the dentist roommate) After a lengthy examination (lengthy as far as Mrs. van D. was concerned, since it actually took no longer than two minutes), Dussel began to scrape out a cavity. But Mrs. van D. had no intention of letting him. She flailed her arms and legs until Dussel finally let go of his probe and it . . . remained stuck in Mrs. van D.’s tooth.
    .
    That really did it! Mrs. van D. lashed out wildly in all directions, cried (as much as you can with an instrument like that in your mouth), tried to remove it, but only managed to push it in even farther. Mr. Dussel calmly observed the scene, his hands on his hips, while the rest of the audience roared with laughter. Of course, that was very mean of us. If it’d been me, I’m sure I would have yelled even louder. After a great deal of squirming, kicking, screaming and shouting, Mrs. van D. finally managed to yank the thing out, and Mr. Dussel went on with his work as if nothing had happened.
    .
  4. (Anne looking out the window to find two Jews with the stars on their clothes, to mark that they were Jews. As appointed by Hitler) By the way, speaking of Jews, I saw two yesterday when I was peeking through the curtains. I felt as though I were gazing at one of the Seven Wonders of the World.
  5. (Still looking out the window) Oh, what a shame, it’s just started raining and most of the people are hidden under their umbrellas. All I can see are raincoats…. Actually, I don’t even need to look. By now I can recognize the women at a glance: gone to fat from eating potatoes
    .
  6. (Anne on her family not understanding how self-critical she was and how much she cared for others, and the torture of always having to live in hiding) “Leave me alone, let me have at least one night when I don’t cry myself to sleep with my eyes burning and my head pounding. Let me get away, away from everything, away from this world!” But I can’t do that. I can’t let them see my doubts, or the wounds they’ve inflicted on me. I couldn’t bear their sympathy or their good-humored derision. It would only make me want to scream even more.
    .
  7. (Mrs. van D gives ‘boy-advice’) “And you know,” she continued, “my father told me that if a gentleman ever got fresh, I was to say, ‘Remem ber, sir, that I’m a lady,’ and he’d know what I meant.” We split our sides laughing, as if she’d told us a good joke.
    .
    .
  8. (the way the dentist-roommate would pray in Anne’s room)….a praying Dussel is a terrible sight to behold. It’s not that he cries or gets sentimental, not at all, but he does spend a quarter of an hour — an entire fifteen minutes — rocking from his toes to his heels. Back and forth, back and forth. It goes on forever, and if I don’t shut my eyes tight, my head starts to spin.
    .
  9. Whenever you’re feeling lonely or sad, try going to the loft on a beautiful day and looking outside. Not at the houses and the rooftops, but at the sky. As long as you can look fearlessly at the sky, you’ll know that you’re pure within and will find happiness once more.

Today is the 70th anniversary of Anne Frank’s arrest and it’s still so hard for me to accept that. I felt so much for her when I read the book, and I was quite too shocked when I realized I got to the last page of the book. I was too engrossed to see how far along I was at the end. And she wouldn’t have known that the last entry, was truly her last.

21 thoughts on “Anne Frank: Book Review

    • Mon ☠ says:

      I am always happy if someone gained something from what I shared. And yeah, I’ve always known about the Franks. But until I got a more humane look at her thourgh her diary, the story becomes more real than ever. What cruel life that child had

  1. Heartafire says:

    I am never ceased to be awed by this remarkable girl and her diary. My favorite quote of Anne Frank is : “Despite everything, I believe that people are really good at heart”. Truly and amazing human being.

    • Mon ☠ says:

      Me either! I couldn’t have thought that someone who appeared on the outside, as Anne describes herself, could have such deep and profound thoughts. As much as I hate judging quickly, I’ve learnt that I have MORE to learn about people than I think I do!

      • Mon ☠ says:

        She truly was. So insightful and humble, of which her parents knew nothing about. Her ability to see things from so many different perspectives is what I love. She judged herself from other people’s eyes more than her own.

Please write! :'(

