My Resolution Progress

I only kept my new year’s resolution to one- To relax more. I kept it to one so that it is easier to focus on (ha). So it’s been 9 days so far.

I think I am doing…average.

I’ve been giving myself a less of a hard time from the beginning of the year. I was more okay with myself.

Whenever mom criticized me for break-downs, I let myself wallow in self-pity a while because I have to honor my emotions. It can be hard when you have to fight against depression and your tiger-mother. It’s harder than the word “hard” can even make you think.

I feel guilty for how my mental state is affecting my family and I don’t do much. But then I wonder if I would want someone I loved to feel guilty for having a mental-illness. The answer is….quite obvious. But I still just cry and lie in bed and all those other depression-stuff or whatever…well yesterday I said outloud that I wanted to die. But I have my period today so I’ll blame it on my hormones this time instead of…chemical imbalance in my brain.

Anyhow, review time..

What had The Mon done well?

1. I am conscious of my goal almost all the time…I mean, it’s just one goal (I AM LEGEND). All my 19 years of life taught me that simplifying gets things done instead of having many options. It’s tempting to want options, especially since I have Extraverted Intuition in my secondary function (I don’t know how you dominant Ne peeps do it!) which makes me want to wonder around. Especially since now that I work on utilizing it more. Which brings me to #2

2. One thing I found that helped me to both relax and energize more is to “move” my thoughts. What I mean is…(I warn you for the next few lines if you aren’t an MBTI geek) I try to use my Extraverted Intuition more often to have many possibilities. Having the Introverted Sensing as tertiary function, it is so tempting to rest into that especially since I have to deal with..my head. You know? i practice “moving through” different thoughts about a topic or whatever. More like..brain storming. And it energizes me a lot because it sort of gets me out of the “stuck-to-the-past” thinking loop which an inferior Si can bring.

How did The Mon benefit from the above…done-wells?

I am changing in little ways. I got more motivated to eat less, to have less salt with my food (I read somewhere that we shouldn’t have any more than one tea-spoon of salt a day). I have seen some visible results of my body slimming. My face looks a little sharper. I knew getting to relax more was like two birds, one stone (though I wouldn’t hurt birdies!) which is why I choose this one. Being relaxed makes choosing healthier options easier.

One little fuming dope-ball: Did you know that relaxation from meditation switches on the protective effect of our genes to fight free radicals (Free radicals are bullies that are constantly in the process of killing your cells) ? This is called the Relaxation Response (RR). In summary: relaxation CHANGES genes to make us healthier.Moving on to my questions….

What can The Mon do better?

Always be on the look-out for decisions I make based on my past experiences. The past can be useful, but I can’t let it stop me from doing anything as I make mountain out of gigantic-deadly mole hills. I mean, of course I will always be using my past. If I don’t remember anything, I would be having Alzheimer right now. But I need to be more possibility-oriented than Never-I’ll-Die!-oriented. I will make more of a conscious effort to “move past” my thoughts and consider various possibilities and ideas instead of just doubling down and cowering. Instead of thinking, “It’s ONLY going to be x,” I need to think, “What if there were other ways I could do it, perceive it, etc”. That’s all y’all.

What are your new year’s resolution(s)?

34 thoughts on “My Resolution Progress

  1. A.B Mood says:

    The techniques you’re adopting for fighting depression are actually really good. Relaxing and “letting things go” helped me a lot to go through mine. But hey, it’s a long journey, so please keep at it and never lose hope. Depression may not be curable, but it sure is controllable.

  2. willytyme says:

    Making resolutions, even one means you’re ahead of half the people in the world. You should feel good every time you get up and look into a mirror. Hanging around the right people can help you accomplish a relaxing environment also. People making criticizing remarks based on posit statements are just jealous they aren’t you. “Were oft to blame in this, ’tis to much proved that with devotion’s visage and pious action we do sugar o’er The devil himself”. A quote for the kind of people you should avoid in 2016. Take things slow and breathe and everything will be alright lovely. The past is nothing but a book of what to do better in the future. They say that criticism are the schoolbooks from which we learn today and that only pertains to positive, not negative. So continue being you because there’s a lot of people who wants to be like you, how wonderful would it be to have the mind of Mon? One more thing, at least with Alzheimer’s you meet someone new everyday. ;o) A little joke to relax the brain.
    and one of my resolutions is to remain one of Mon’s number one fans!!!! YAHHH!!! Take care lovely, that is one of the smartest resolutions ever!! ;o)

    • Mon ☠ says:

      Yeah, having supportive people around can make things easier to accomplish. That’s just one of the things I’ve noticed about them, they’re quite unhappy themselves. Hurt people hurt people. Aw, thanks for this piece of wisdom. The past is a huge wisdom book, LOL! It can never be finished nevertheless xD Ahaha, I am so glad you like my posts so much 😀 And it gives a huge boost to get such support from you all the time :I 😀 Thank you, Sweets!

  3. ramexa says:

    I have only one resolution for this year and that is – to be happy. Nothing more, nothing less. Looks like you’re going strong. Just keep moving forward. 🙂

  4. Heartafire says:

    A fine article Mon, I don’t do resolutions anymore, it sets me up for failure. I will just try to do what is best! ❤

Please write! :'(

