Fuming Ball of Dope. Part 1

My thick, heavy, lengthy 10 years’ Readers’ Digest compilation, 1979-1989, is problematic to hold up. Yet I finished half of it in three days, that’s how good sh*t is. Writers long before us ….their preciseness- f*cking spectacular!

I underlined nifty phrases from it. Here’s an example of what style the book is 70% filled with–“..juveniles held their ancestral direction for migration, southwest by west.” Illustrating how young pigeons followed the inborn sense of direction from those long before. LOL, okay. I simply love the succinctness of their wording. It’s the simplicity of writing that’s hard to pull off. No sh*t.

Okay, enough nerd things.

That’s a lie. I will mount my posts with nerd things soon 😀

That’s a lie too, not soon, I’ll start in 3, 2, 25, 67, 1, 0!

Okay so these are notes from that bird article 😀 The most important facets are here, I am confident.

In a 10-year study, 11000 starlings released in Switzerland had automatically found their way to the wintering places. Scientists found these birds to be sensitive to magnetic fields from the poles. And by this cognizance of the fields, they could change direction if displaced. F*cking rad, right?

Birds are classier than just sensing field lines; they learn the pattern of the rotation of stars to determine their axis too (what’s an axis?). Unlike the inborn sense for sensing fields, this skill (of intense star-gazing?) had to be acquired from their youth. Youth is the time of reaching for the stars, later you just get screwed by crazy Helmholtz-coils-scientists curious about your star-gazing (mentioned in the next para….).

Scientists (f*cked with the birds’ sanity by) alternating the direction of the magnetic field by caging birds with Helmholtz coils. And they blocked the view of the sky so the birds could not see the stars for navigation. The restless birds soon read the new lines and changed their migratory direction accordingly. My question- where did this take place? How were the birds caged but at the same time able to migrate in that sh*t? Why Y No give name of place with those migratory birds you cheated with? I bet y’all have a healthy conscience D:

The other question I have is…. why do migratory birds use the positions of star-pattern for guides, when they are aware of magnetic field lines for direction? Or do I have “axis” and “direction” all confused? What!? Whatever, to summarize it all…

“Above all, do not lose your desire to walk. Everyday, I walk myself into a state of well-being & walk away from every illness…. the more one sits still, the closer one comes to feeling ill. Thus if one just keeps on walking, everything will be all right.” ― Søren Kierkegaard

Did I miss something?

I hope you enjoyed this! And yeah. The title was related to the article! Dope also means “(informal) information about a subject, especially if not generally known”. Eh? Eh? Lured you in with it. I did, no? Do you like reading nerdy sh*t from me? I can’t stop if you don’t like them [I am nerd, I am inexorable] but I’ll change the frequency of the posts accordingly. 😀

Image By Glitchy Artist

18 thoughts on “Fuming Ball of Dope. Part 1

    • Mon ☠ says:

      Thanks so much, V! I wasn’t getting many likes in the beginning of the post and your comment was what it took to motivate me to read even more 😀 Thank you!

      And as for the birds, I hope they do adapt, and maybe the scientists won’t go crazy on them next time :O

Please write! :'(

