Blogging Pet-Peeve

Oh dear, where do I begin? I already wrote a blog post on ways to be a better blogger. Now I think I will write about a personal blogging pet-peeve..

The Read More Tag

Make sure your posts are accessible from the reader and the mail. I don’t understand why people have a “read more” section on the reader. You get views from ONLY new visits, so your view counts isn’t necessarily going to up from that. (You get views when people open the window or email anyway, right? The tag doesn’t make a different, from what I learnt:)

To avoid this for email: Publish the whole post first and THEN put the “Read more” tag as you update the post. This way the readers who read from their emails don’t have to click on that unnecessary tag. If they didn’t want to read more, why would they have subscribed to me? If the Read More Tag is enabled on the reader, make sure it isn’t by disallowing only summaries from your blog to be shown.

The only place this crazy tag belongs to is in the home-page; where first time readers decide if my blog is sh*t for them or not xD I can’t tell you of the tons of awesome bloggers I unsubscribed from just because of tag 😥 I have unsubscribed from SO SO SO many.

Also, the only time I accept the Read More Tag is if you make money from Google Adsense 😛 Which, so far a lot of you don’t 😛

Image by Paul Militaru

35 thoughts on “Blogging Pet-Peeve

      • Sushmita says:

        Okay..sorry, I got confused about the whole thing. You have already mentioned this information in your post itself and I wasted your time by asking the question again. My doubt actually is: I don’t put any READ MORE tag before publishing or after publishing and yet it seems to be that my email posts have a READ MORE tag? I can’t say for sure because it is others who get that email.

      • Mon ☠ says:

        Haha, if you don’t put the read more tag, it won’t appear 😉 If you publish normally, it will be on full view. And I get your articles in my emails and they don’t have the tag 😉

  1. Cat says:

    It took me a while to figure out what you mean because I never open email notifications. I just couldn’t keep up with too many emails, so I read blogs via the WP reader. But, I did open some emails and notice some display the full post while other bloggers have a ‘read more’ tag. Personally, I prefer the full post in the email. So, I have a couple of questions… when the full post is published in the email, does opening that email activate on my stats, even though the person doesn’t visit my blog? How can I make sure my own posts are being displayed fully in an email? And just one more, don’t you think enticing someone to our blog to read a post might encourage them to read other past posts? Maybe by reading the post in an email, the reader is less likely to look through our blogs.

    • Mon♥ (INFP. Anyone?) says:

      “does opening that email activate on my stats, even though the person doesn’t visit my blog?”
      As far as I know, only new visits are counted as views on a blog. So personally, I don’t think it makes any difference 😮

      How can I make sure my own posts are being displayed fully in an email?
      You simply publish it, that’s all xD But add the “Read more” tag after you publish.

      “And just one more, don’t you think enticing someone to our blog to read a post might encourage them to read other past posts? Maybe by reading the post in an email, the reader is less likely to look through our blogs.”

      Those who subscribed to our blogs already know what kind of blog ours is. And you do have a point, but I don’t think everyone has the patience to click through to blogs. Unless you have extremely sincere readers xD For most people, I simply unsubscribe 😮 That’s 99.98% of the time.

      • Cat says:

        Mmmm… I’m not sure about the first part. On my WP stats, I have the number of views (that’s people who regularly visit my blog) and the number of visitors (the people who have visited for the first time within the last week). So, I’m not clear on how it affects stats if readers only view a post in an email. However, I do like the idea of my entire post showing in an email. Thanks for clarifying 🙂

  2. David says:

    I had no idea the read more tag showed up in emails. That seems a bit pointless.
    I like the read more tag, I think it makes things look a lot less cluttered and more organised.

  3. afternoonofsundries says:

    I use the Read More tag for effect, if I see in the reader preview it gives away the joke before the photo or if there are many photos with text in between, causing the preview in the reader to look like a bad Goole Translation; then I use that tag. Otherwise I agree, over use is aggravating 🙂

  4. Jim says:

    you mean someone would actually pay you to blog? holy crap! where do I find one of those suckers? I can come up with a whole bunch of nonsense to write about if properly motivated and money is a good motivator for me. 🙂

  5. miusho says:

    I have my “read more” set up through the reader for people who actually READ my blog.. I know, I know, I’m annoying.. And I don’t really give a damn. I also sometimes (only when I really REALLY rant) set up a “read more” tag in my post itself.. But a few days after I post it..

    But, you’re still following me so I think I’m good? ❤ -gives hugs- 😀
    If you have tips for me though, you may always share them, just know I don't blog to gain followers. 😀 😛

Please write! :'(

