Facts and Imagination

I am reading Hard Times, the chapter opens with this dialogue:

“Now, what I want is Facts. Teach these boys and girls nothing but Facts. Facts alone are wanted in life. Plant nothing else, and root out everything else. You can only form the minds of reasoning animals upon Facts; nothing else will ever be of any service to them.”
Charles Dickens, Hard Times

The “facts” talked about there are about not being “fanciful”. The opposite of the word, “Facts” is cleverly used as the word “Fancy”. The books shows the hard facets of life. Also, how people neurotically bogged down my facts forget to enjoy the human things.People who only find fun in numbers and problems.

But anyhow, the above dialogue hurts me. It hurts because that’s not the way I am, and yet, life hits me with “facts”. It hurts bad that I can’t be a child no more. There’s a chapter here “Murdering the Innocents” 😦

Anyhow, I am only halfway through the book. And well, prominently logical people mess with my sense of “reality”. Because I am a romanticist who sees beauty in smiling children and clouds and stuff.

Slight Spoiler Alert: Dickens is on my side by the way D:

Image: Glitchy Artist

15 thoughts on “Facts and Imagination

  1. sonofabeach96 says:

    This doesn’t get any easier as you get older. But, having children, for me at least, helped regain some of that innocence and non-cynicism. When teaching and rationalizing with them, I’ve had to talk at their level. To see things as they do, in order to insure they understand my message. And when we travel or have a new experience, the look on their faces and the exuberance for life and fun and excitement they convey becomes contagious! Before I know it, I’m crawling around in a ball pit, playing lazer tag, jumping off a high dive, or pretending to be Bigfoot and hiding in the dark while they hunt me. I still have the “facts” of life, but they keep me active and using MY imagination as well.

  2. yanaakm says:

    I have the hard trouble of being both logical and imaginative. It sometimes causes battles in my head. Though I do believe only facts is not enough, creativity is important too. Great discovers were made because people imagined it was possible. Great works of art and writing have been made because people were creative. There is no one way is the best, in my opinion.

    • Mon♥ Bloggistish says:

      You really have to! 😮 The way he portrays the emotions of the people who are really facing the facts (people with hard times like poverty) and the rich people who always blabber on about being realistic and take pride in it :I

  3. Laduchessederat says:

    Well, Dickens… he rooted his characters in the reality ordeals while being a writer himself which means a being of dreams and imagination. I guess this means there is hope everywhereL Even in the harshest dialogues, especially if the writer of said exchanges tries to sort out something for himself.

Please write! :'(

