How can I improve my writing? (Again!)

You will receive a free gift-y thing if you critique on SPECIFIC things I can do with my writing to improve it  😀

Tell me how to improve from some of the mistakes I’ve made in MY posts. (One good example would be to stop the overuse of the word, “That” 😉

Here are some good feed-back I received so far:

babysteps22:

Well, using three exclamation marks in your heading is just wrong.

Tony Burgess:

Keep your posts short and focused. Use titles that will catch the attention of your reader. Be sure you are having fun because your audience can tell when you aren’t. Run your spell check feature and it will help you with any grammar issues you might have and we all have them. Take your time when you are writing and proof read. Keep on blogging my friend.

J.A Lopez

1. Well, be formal sometimes especially on your titles… Using too much punctuation marks are wrong.

2. Well, first of all… Don’t change the color of your text… Just keep it black… Use titles that will catch your readers attention. Focus on the message of your posts. Don’t use informal words like your word “giftie”… Use the normal word… And writing always will improve your writing. Writing always stretches your writing muscles… I hope it helps! 😀

AsilandtheKeyboard

1. I’ve noticed that you sometimes have wrong spellings on some of your posts.
2. I disagree with Jerrod. You may use those slang words as long as it is understandable. This is the internet.
3. Avoid using the passive voice.
4. Always keep on writing.
5. Never be redundant like 8 “AM” in the “morning”.
Those are what I’ve learned in journalism class and some experiences. 😀

miusho

Well. I don’t think you would have to be formal.. I’m not formal either. You don’t use cuss words so that’s good. I would indeed stick with 1 colour or, like you did now, use red to put attention to those lines but other than that, sometimes I type a sentence in Google and Google fixes it for me. 😀 Or I look up words to see how they are used. I haven’t been tought much English in school so sometimes I have to do some research. 😦
No need for gifts, I’m just repeating things. 😀 ❤

hbhatnagar.

Keep a natural flow to your writing. If you don’t feel like it’s working out, save a draft and get back to it when you are in the proper frame of mind. The rest of it depends on what you want to accomplish with your blog. Is it meant to be a personal diary of sorts? Is it meant to be a one-way communication? Are long debates in the comments section something you like to indulge in? Do you plan to monetize your blog at some point? Do you have a special focus you want to give the blog or is it a more general one?
One basic tip, for what it’s worth. Any entry over 500 words or so will be glossed over by most readers. Unless you mean it to be an essay blog, or something about a particular topic like fashion or Bollywood or whatever. In those cases longer entries are generally better accepted.
Hope it’s some help and you don’t go TLDR on this! 😀

1. Be as clear and concise as possible, no mumbo jumbo required.
2. Use punctuations properly whether required.
3. Break up your text into smaller paragraphs, it’s easier on the reader’s eye and looks more attractive.
4. Too many exclamations (like so!!!!!!!!!!!!!), look ugly, avoid that, try to use one, two or atmost three.
5. Keep writing!

And I will accept the advice from the following people for gifts because I wasn’t very clear on what I wanted from the last post:

Chow Kim Wan (Thanks for the long, kind reply!)

willytyme (Thanks, my lovely, Sweetie!)

The next THREE people to give me the required criticism shall receive gifties (I know that’s not formal, but this post is not meant for that!)! 😀

38 thoughts on “How can I improve my writing? (Again!)

  1. AsilandtheKeyboard says:

    A comment from one of my followers:
    I guess the only real thing I can offer is to keep being entertaining.
    Blogging is meant to be a fun way to share emotions, events and much more.
    Enjoy it!
    Jason

  2. Gaurav Chaplot says:

    1. Be as clear and concise as possible, no mumbo jumbo required.
    2. Use punctuations properly whether required.
    3. Break up your text into smaller paragraphs, it’s easier on the reader’s eye and looks more attractive.
    4. Too many exclamations (like so!!!!!!!!!!!!!), look ugly, avoid that, try to use one, two or atmost three.
    5. Keep writing!

  3. hbhatnagar says:

    Keep a natural flow to your writing. If you don’t feel like it’s working out, save a draft and get back to it when you are in the proper frame of mind. The rest of it depends on what you want to accomplish with your blog. Is it meant to be a personal diary of sorts? Is it meant to be a one-way communication? Are long debates in the comments section something you like to indulge in? Do you plan to monetize your blog at some point? Do you have a special focus you want to give the blog or is it a more general one?
    One basic tip, for what it’s worth. Any entry over 500 words or so will be glossed over by most readers. Unless you mean it to be an essay blog, or something about a particular topic like fashion or Bollywood or whatever. In those cases longer entries are generally better accepted.
    Hope it’s some help and you don’t go TLDR on this! 😀

  4. miusho says:

    Well. I don’t think you would have to be formal.. I’m not formal either. You don’t use cuss words so that’s good. I would indeed stick with 1 colour or, like you did now, use red to put attention to those lines but other than that, sometimes I type a sentence in Google and Google fixes it for me. 😀 Or I look up words to see how they are used. I haven’t been tought much English in school so sometimes I have to do some research. 😦

    No need for gifts, I’m just repeating things. 😀 ❤

  5. AsilandtheKeyboard says:

    Sorry for my previous comment. 😛
    I’ll be serious this time although I’m not entirely sure this will be of help to you as I am an amateur at writing and I too need to improve.
    1. I’ve noticed that you sometimes have wrong spellings on some of your posts.
    2. I disagree with Jerrod. You may use those slang words as long as it is understandable. This is the internet.
    3. Avoid using the passive voice.
    4. Always keep on writing.
    5. Never be redundant like 8 “AM” in the “morning”.
    Those are what I’ve learned in journalism class and some experiences. 😀

  6. J.A Lopez says:

    Well, first of all… Don’t change the color of your text… Just keep it black… Use titles that will catch your readers attention. Focus on the message of your posts. Don’t use informal words like your word “giftie”… Use the normal word… And writing always will improve your writing. Writing always stretches your writing muscles… I hope it helps! 😀

Please write! :'(

