Rant: 28/6/15 (I felt like a person today)

WARNING: Negative (depends on how you see it, though) things ahead.


Breathing.

Or trying to breathe, I got out of the schooling center and was greeted by the kind, fresh air. Fresh air is the best friend of asthmatics like myself. But I was angry at myself for not being able to get much done in class, even though I was sick.

I walked on…..

And then a miracle happened:

I felt like a person. Why? No men was staring at me today! dance No, not even one freakin’ man! Oh yes! The freedom! I wanted to dance in the midst of all these men but that wouldn’t do much good for me 😛

Let me explain why no men stared. Two words: It’s Ramadan. In the month of fasting, if any men stares at women with lust, their fast breaks (Yipee!). Everyone is fasting because it is obligatory for a spiritual detox and to grow our sympathy for the hungry.

NO F-ING MAN, NOT EVEN THOSE OLD ENOUGH TO BE MY FATHER, STARED AT ME!!!!!!!!!

Not one. Nope.

Exactly.

Me: Mom, it’s like, I was a human walking among them. And there were so many of them! I was walking through a CROWD of men! Not one stared! :’D

Mom: These men should fast throughout the year, and not just for one month”

Me: 😀 😀 😀 😀

I felt like a f-ing human for once. It’s one of the thing I love about Ramadan. Every year, in this VERY special month, those of the sexist ones have to curb their objectification. Hee!

I know some of you think I am weird for celebrating such a thing, but have you lived where I live? Where you get harassed even when you cover your-freakin-self up? When you have to cover yourself even in the crazy, hot summer? Speak now!

So…..

Yeay! It’s a party. It’s the, and I warn you I will be very blunt (OK? Don’t read if sensitive!), “Recognize ‘Pleasure-Objects’ with your mother’s and daughter’s genitalia as humans too!” time. Yep. I have the right to say this if those damn misogynists don’t have the decency to not appreciate this simple, little fact.

Anyhow, I am mentally celebrating because this temporary “evolution” of these types of men from seeing women as objects to their equals until the fast, IS something to celebrate. It’s a rare thing here, people.

Thank you for the time!

17 thoughts on “Rant: 28/6/15 (I felt like a person today)

  1. lovetotrav says:

    It sucks to be objectified by these men for every other month of the year Mon. I have never experienced what you have but most likely my blonde 15-year-old daughter and even me will soon. That part we will not like at all. And that too,will make us angry and then rejoice during Ramadan when it disappears. So sad that they can’t see what they are doing…they wouldn’t do this to their own female members of their family!

    • Mon (is a Girl's Name) says:

      Actually, my dad has a habit of staring at women and sometimes he stares at me too, inappropriately. But there will be a post on that later. I just keep mentioning the family part because it’s important- even though some people may not take their family seriously in this way, but most people know what’s universally right or wrong.

      Yes, it will be sad, but I think there’s a little good in this too. She will learn to see the other side of society from a young age. I have been seeing things like this since I was….9 perhaps? But I am still innocent and young at mind and learning. It’s not the end of the world for me. And I think getting used to this might just expand her mind on the fact that maybe everyone isn’t who we thought of them to be. I know it will be a sad time for both of you when that happens and I really don’t know how else you can comfort her, but I thought sharing this might help.

      Thanks for ALL the support you keep giving me, Cheryl.Hugs and good thoughts sent your way ❤

      • lovetotrav says:

        You are welcome. Yes, her eyes will be wide open and she will learn to appreciate places where she will be bothered less for being who she is… a girl. Sad heh? But there are really good things about learning to live in a different culture with a different religion from ours and that we look forward to very much! We do love the sound of the call to prayer as we heard it in Morocco and that was a favourite time for us.

      • Mon (is a Girl's Name) says:

        Yeah, all the more reason for me to move to another country haha

        Yes, I love the sound of prayer too, but most people here actually don’t know how to peacefully say the prayer, IMO. I feel like they rush it and the harmony goes off :I It’s not like the beautiful one from Mecca 😀

  2. babysteps22 says:

    I was brought up in an islamic country, UAE so I used to love Ramadan because school would get over in three hours 😀 Have a great Ramadan! And if you don’t mind me asking which country do you live in? 🙂

  3. Ritu says:

    I agree, it must be hard to have that sort of gaze on you constantly…. Enjoy the month of Ramadan… Id love to say it’ll get better, soon, but I think that time us a while away….

    • Mon (is a Girl's Name) says:

      Thanks, Ritu 🙂 I will enjoy while I can. Something in me wants to burst out and dance for joy in the middle of the streets and give everyone flowers. Everything looks so muchh better and beautiful when people pay a little respect, even though they are doing it because they don’t want to destroy their hard-work of fasting by staring at one girl, but I just don’t care. If only things were like this all the time.

      Thank you 🙂

      • Ritu says:

        It’s a little different, but when I was at uni, in the UK, we also felt this same feeling… There were a group called ‘the Islamic society’ who sat in a corner of the canteen. When you walked in there, you could feel their eyes boring into you… Almost undressing you with their eyes. I don’t believe for one second that all males, or Muslim makes are like that. I had good friends, and one who treated me like a little sister, one greeted me with a hug, during his month of fasting, somewhere near this ‘society’. Oh the comments they made about him, hugging me. He turned around and said to them that the fast they were even thinking such stuff, about him and a girl, broke their own fast, his intentions were honest, and brother like. He was disgusted by these guys, and would refuse to be associated with them…
        Isn’t this proof that a few weirdos can influence the thoughts of many, regarding a race/religion, even though they may be the minority?

      • Mon (is a Girl's Name) says:

        Your friend did a good job enlightening them. Uff,,,those men even dare call themselves “The Islamic Society”- how pathetic. A lot of people give themselves or their groups Islamic names and then destroying the innocence of the religion, making everyone confused about why it is evencalled the “Religion of Peace” :I Some people think like, “Oh they are doing bad. They Muslims. Hence, all Muslims are bad”. Wait, I am going off course…but yes, those men are disgusting :I

      • Ritu says:

        I agree totally. My best friend is Muslim, and we had a lot of negativity because of our friendship, but I wouldn’t change it for anything!!!! She is the most special person to me! ❤️

Please write! :'(

