Lost: 26 followers!

I was being selfish these past couple of days. I followed a Twitter page that was simply for follow-backs. And I didn’t get many referrers from twitter as much as I thought I would get after being followed my LOTS of people. I even thought,Β Eh, at least I got followers. That will add to my followers count at my blog (Yes, I was being dangerously selfish! I can’t believe myself now that I put it in writing! :O) I selfishly stopped following people and then ended up guilty for followeing them in the first place. Most of the people I un-followerd had unfollowed me back, too! I guess I am not the only one who keeps track of my followers. And one of them unfollowed me even though I hadn’t unfollowed them, but I got a little happy because I could unfollow that person without any guilt. o_O

I guess some people followed me either because I follow them back or because they wanted a follow back like I did before. Eh, greed. It got me and made me a stupid, pathetic human being. Although some of the people were my friends and I mistakenly unfollowed them too and I today I saw that one of them unfollowed me and I was all Ooops! And I am not sure if I should follow them back because they might think I followed them again for another follow!

Days of selfishness…..complete.

Don’t you ever do that, Mon! Joining a follow page for follow-backs and then unfollowing people

Sorry, WM 😦

Update: I am talking about twitter followers πŸ˜› But all the people I followed on wordpress was because I liked their blogs, haha

Update#2: User abyssbrain gave the following info. I found so many spammy links from many follow-back-followers!

Of course, people who offer follow x follow have their own reasons. Others may just want to grow their followers that way, but I will bet that many others are affiliated with some shady websites that just want to build backlinks to their sites…

31 thoughts on “Lost: 26 followers!

  1. abyssbrain says:

    If someone follows me on Twitter, I first see if it’s a spam account before I follow back that account. There are just too many spammers in Twitter…

    And also, those “follow back” groups constantly check for “tweeps” (those who they follow but do not follow them back) using a program, so yeah, they will know if you unfollow them.

    • Mon says:

      No wonder! I wen’t from 130 to 94 πŸ˜€ At least those who followed me for me will stay…..or maybe there aren’t many of them :O

      • abyssbrain says:

        From what I know, many of those follow back groups are just bloody spammers anyway. They would just overload your Tweeter feed with hollow tweets… So, it doesn’t really matter in the long run.

      • Mon says:

        NOOO WOONDER! This is the primary reason I unfollowed them. They just keep retweeting and flooding the comments and I got tired of muting people :O

      • abyssbrain says:

        That’s how they do it on the net. Of course, people who offer follow x follow have their own reasons. Others may just want to grow their followers that way, but I will bet that many others are affiliated with some shady websites that just want to build backlinks to their sites…

  2. datingflops says:

    I don’t do follow backs. Periodically I will go through my followers, read their blogs and decide if I find them interesting to follow.

  3. lovetotrav says:

    You make me laugh. You are so darn honest and I love reading how you analyze yourself and others. I am thinking a career in psychology would be right up your alley πŸ™‚

    • Mon says:

      LOL. I LIVE psychology πŸ˜› I have OCD *dance*
      I am glad it entertained you, I thought people would think, “Look, that Mon is EVIL”.

Please write! :'(

